“Gender and Death” from Lady Hela

on

Written at Hela’s prompting:

You discuss gender and androgyny and sexuality, but these are all limited human terms to point out this: who is reproducing with whom and what is beneficial for the community? People used to think it terms of the whole, but the whole has been whittled down to individual persons and its no longer a matter of community survival, but individual expressions. Death is beyond gender and sexuality, Death is the only thing in existence that “reproduces” from a void. I welcome a new language for a new time, when we open discussions with new definitions that are true for ourselves.

I invite you to consider yourself from the void, not from the abundance, so that instead of lacking, or not contributing, you are building from a base. Instead of a “family tree” to keep growing, we see an empty field. Instead of a history that you must continue to build upon, I present you the blank canvas of your life. Instead of accepting others language and definitions of yourself as male, female, femme, butch, androgynous, you become you.

I know that some of you wont get this, some humans see the cage as part of their skeleton and some see the cage as dressage and some wonder why people wave smoke in their face and call it a cage. Language is a living, breathing, growing organism. Do not get trapped by it so far as to not see your way out.

 

Cat, you are struggling to fit the Gods and Goddesses into fallible human language and fallible human ideas. Stop. Remove ideas of gender. See them for who they are. Love goddesses become death goddesses. Reproduction becomes a manipulation of power. Choice is there, hiding behind the human legends. Choice is power. Wyrd is power. Orlog is power, all flowing behind the stories, all telling a different tale. See Inanna. See the many faces of Artemis. Look for the power that has been stripped from them.

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Cat says:

    This is good stuff to think about. Or meditate on. Or both.
    Either way, it’s too much to grasp for me right now (tiredness is slowly winning me over for today). But I will re-read. And think. And maybe even meditate. Thank you.

    1. Raan says:

      🙂 I love when the Gods take part in the conversation.

  2. ladyimbrium says:

    I had a feeling she had more to say- and she’s right. We’re not going to really understand what she’s saying. I’ve tried, and I like to think I’ve made some personal progress, but not much. There is a lot here to think about and meditate on. Thank you for transmitting her words to the rest of us.

    1. Raan says:

      Yeah, I dont always get what she says, especially not well enough to dictate it, but her point was, we are limited by the language we use. “Its like discussing Picasso with a color-blind person.” The trick is to recognize where and how we are limited.

  3. bellemy says:

    Oh the irony of writing in this limiting language of human-ness! I know you don’t know me but thank you for sharing. I will be following. Very thought-provoking as well as confirming of the things I’ve thought for a long time.

    1. Raan says:

      🙂 You are welcome. Welcome to the… circle? I hope you like my ramblings.

Comments are closed.