Pagan Blog Project: Marriage

I’m getting married. In a month.

Yeaaaaah…

I never pegged myself as the “marrying type”, mostly due to my childhood, but fast forward to an amazing guy and the compromise I make because its important to him.

But he’s not a pagan. He’s more of the lapsed Catholic/pseudo-atheist type. He doesn’t have a problem with my spirituality, far from it. He has told me that he gets a kick out of having a non-christian SO. But he’s not a pagan. Which means the split in my life is weird.

I have my normal life, my friends that are his friends, his friends that are my friends. And then I have my friends that he has never met, that made jokes about the “made up boyfriend” until I started dragging him to help me do stuff. Like get a free couch from my High Priestess. Or say hi to the couple that came over to hang out. He has no interest in going to Circle or Solstice parties, and when I asked him if he wanted to go to the pagan camp ground with me for Earth Day, his first question was “Do they have wifi?”

Add into this a step-daughter of 12 and her Baptist mother, and it begins to be a weird mine-field kind of life at some points. The kiddo is more than happy to talk paganism with me, mostly mythology at this point. And she has mentioned an interest in going to a circle with me “when I am about 18”.  See thats the catch. Her mother thinks I am trying to convert her, the child is asking the most amazing questions and the fiance isnt really involved in any of the religious conversations beyond “I just want people to do what makes them happy”.

I know some of you have pagan SO’s and some of you don’t. How do you juggle life with faith? Do you have to make hard choices? Did you purposefully seek out someone who does/does not align with your spirituality?

3 thoughts on “Pagan Blog Project: Marriage

  1. The Faery Enchantress says:

    All the best for next month angel. I just share my pagan side with my family and so far it works although hubby is not pagan.

    Rachel x

  2. Witchy_Girl says:

    Congratulations! I wrote a blog entry over at Musings and Daydreams of a Student Witch abiout dating non pagans, as my boyfriend is athiest.

  3. ladyimbrium says:

    I feel like I’m married to my housemates- we vacillate between sharing amazing times and being annoyed at each other, and we never have sex. OK, so that last bit, while true, is more of a worn out joke. I’m out everywhere but to my family elders (parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents.) which is kind of bass-ackwards from what is generally recommended. Oh well, that’s how my family works- or doesn’t.

    I think that if I was going to spend the greater portion of my life with someone I would want to make sure that we were on the same page. He or she would not have to agree with my beliefs, but respecting them would be necessary.

    Time is something we all fight for. It’s going to be hard if my current slew of commitments is any indication. I’m managing without losing my mind, so I suspect you will be able to do the same.

    And truly- Congratulations 🙂

Comments are closed.