Pagan Blog Project: Prayers from a pagan heart

“Please let me get through this night unharmed”.

It comes out of my mouth, under my breath, as I walk the halls, doing my job. Its a prayer, offered up to whomever wants to listen, said in a moment of emotion.

That’s what it is, a thin spider-web of emotion that connects my heart and my Divine.

Sometimes we forget, this is a relationship. We need to say “thank you” and “how are you” and “how was your day”, as much as we need to say “I need” “I want” “I desire”.

Thank you for the gift of this sunrise even if my heart hurts too much to appreciate it.

Thank you for the snowfall, even though it reminds me that I am without my loved ones for another turn of the wheel.

Thank you for this child crying when I want to sleep, this animal who won’t leave me alone, the noisy neighbors upstairs.

Thank you for another ride on the wheel of life.

“Thank you for helping me to get through this night unharmed.”

2 Comments

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    And sometimes we need to say thank you to one another as well. As in, thank you for the reminder.

  2. Anne says:

    Yes, thanks for reminding me to remind myself!

Comments are closed.