on

Coming to terms with identity is difficult, even as a full-grown adult. Choosing to align yourself with a group that is fairly universally reviled is…. difficult. Its a long story but mysticism has lead to me semi-syncrenicity has led me to study the Jotun pantheon in more detail. And what I have found is amazing. When viewed as a complete entity, the story the Giants tell is awe-inspiring.

This does not mean that I am comfortable saying I am a Rokkratru or that I am “Satanic Norse” as I’ve been accused of before. But I have decided to work only with the Jotuns, forsaking the Aesir and Vanir. I make this choice based on a few different things.

The Gods who call me (and that I choose to work with) are all Jotuns. I’ve turned down quite a few others, including Celtic Gods and one Yoruba orisha (and an Egyptian Goddess with claws), I return again and again to the Giants. They feel like family to me, no matter how far abroad I travel.

Even the controversial UPG lines up. Their blood is my blood, their magic feels right and real to me, as natural as breathing. The things I can do without thinking, the things that make others blink and look at me oddly, are all attested to in shared gnosis and in spirit lore.

And I am very very tired of fighting my own inclinations.

So here I stand, a shaman with the fire and ice of generations of giants running in her veins.

Anyone else embracing their otherness?

8 Comments

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    Hello giant, I’m a dragon. We should hang.

    Because universal revulsion isn’t actually universal. Some of us prefer primordial powers.

    1. Raan says:

      Haha! Every time I read your stuff I think the same thing. I’m sry I left MD wo meeting u

  2. After a fashion; They’ve led me to a place where it seems clear I have Work to do for/with a number of local spirits and deities, and I’m just starting to understand what that all means. It makes me nervous, because so much uncharted territory, but – I can’t deny the pull I have to the local land, or the easy love for the spirits here. I can’t claim to understand the how or why at this point, only that it’s a Thing.

    I am excited to read about someone else with a Jotun-centered practice – almost all of the deities I have relationships with are Jotnar. With the exception of my local spirits, Everyone who has things to teach me, or wants some form of relationship, is either Jotnar, or part of Loki’s Family (I guess Odin fits into the latter category; He comes around very rarely). The first time I ever read about Them being worshiped in modern times, I just *knew* They were my gods, and there I went.

    1. Raan says:

      Being true to our gods, really tru, is never easy. But it’s worth it. 🙂

  3. Niki says:

    This is beautiful and wonderful. May you find every blessing in this work and relationship!

  4. It is only otherness when you have another other to other you

    Otherwise it’s just a another new normalcy

    1. Raan says:

      It’s always new normalcy. That’s why it is key to keep pushing personal boundaries. So that, in the process of pushing, u discover your limits and your heights.

Comments are closed.