This weekend I led my very first oracle session. I’ve been wanting to do one for years and modeled it on Diana Paxson’s group. But I wasn’t really prepared when the Gods presented me with the opportunity out of the blue. And a week of prep? Really? Come on guys.

I decided to use the skills and tools I have come to count on in my private work. So I put out an S.O.S. call to my bestie and another really good friend who I knew was an experienced practitioner. We set up a makeshift high seat and figured out the best way to get people to and from. I also used my drumming (via my phone) and Belladonna flying ointment (via a reputable source) that I have worked with before. I journeyed to the Well and used the surface to answer questions.

What I liked: The people loved the opportunity we presented to them. About half the group had questions and a few wanted to talk about it after, which I was fine with. One woman needed a lot more clarification when the Well didn’t provide an immediate answer. I loved working with the 2 people I chose. I felt safe and was able to focus on my job.

What I didn’t like: The wind smacking the makeshift veil around my face, the chair hurting my back after awhile. We were also too close to the main group and it was distracting.

Changes for next time: a different area, maybe inside. I also need a lot more prep time to get securely stationed by the well. And we need to devise a way to bring the oracle back up. It took me a long time to recover. I think next time I will give the questioners more time as well.

